The Women in Economics Network is run by the national Women in Economics Committee (WEC) and the committees of each State and Territory WEN branch. Committees are comprised of female economists from the public sector, private sector, academia and teaching. 

The WEN National Committee is comprised of the Chairs of each WEN State and Territory committee, executive roles (Chair, Deputy, Secretary and Treasurer) and special appointments who bring specialist knowledge to the committee. Committee members are appointed to their roles via a nomination and election process. The WEN National Chair represents WEN on the ESA Central Council.

A list of current and former members of the WEN National Committee is provided below:

WEN National Committee 2022

National Chair

Dr Leonora Risse
(Senior Lecturer in Economics, RMIT University)

(Founding member of inaugural WEN National Committee)

National Deputy Chair

Dr Angela Jackson
(Lead Economist, Impact Economics)

National Secretary

Dr Alexandra Lobb
(Principal, Acil Allen)

National Treasurer

Carmela Chivers
(Legislative Adviser)

Chair, Australian Capital Territory

Linda Ward
(Interim CEO, Sydney Harbour Federation Trust) 

Chair, New South Wales

Dr Kar Mei Tang
(Head of Australia and New Zealand, UN Principles for Responsible Investment)

Chair, Northern Territory

Dr Maneka Jayasinghe
(Senior Lecturer in Economics, Charles Darwin University)

Chair, Queensland

Professor Louisa Coglan
(Professor of Economics, Queensland University of Technology)

Co-Chair, South Australia

Dr Tania Dey
(Research Economist, University of Adelaide)

Co-Chair, South Australia 

Associate Professor Duygu Yengin
(Associate Professor, University of Adelaide)

(Founding member of inaugural WEN National Committee)

Chair, Tasmania

Dr Maria Yanotti
(Senior Lecturer in Economics, University of Tasmania)

Chair, Victoria

Isabelle Layton
(Senior Policy Advisor, Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions)

Chair, Western Australia

Cassandra Winzar
(Senior Economist, Committee for Economic Development of Australia)

Educational Advisor

Wendy Mockler
(Facilitator of Pedagogy,  Lumen Christi Catholic College,  Pambula Beach)

Educational Advisor

Leith Thompson
(Economics Teacher, Sydney Grammar School)

Former members of WEN National Committee (2017-2021)

WEN's ongoing activities and contributions to the economics profession have been made possible through the dedicated voluntary efforts of our Committee members over time. Below we recognise the contributions of former members of our WEN National Committee.

Danielle Wood
WEN National Chair (2017-2019)
WEN Victoria Chair (2017)
(Inaugural National Chair; Founding member of inaugural WEN National Committee)

Dr Bethany Cooper
WEN National Treasurer (2017-2019)
WEN Chair, South Australia (2017-2018)
(Founding member of inaugural WEN National Committee)

Dr Tina Rampino
WEN Chair, Queensland (2017-2018)
(Founding member of inaugural WEN National Committee)

Associate Professor Rebecca Cassells
WEN Chair, Australian Capital Territory (2017-2018)
(Founding member of inaugural WEN National Committee)

Analena Gilhome
WEN Chair, Western Australia (2017)
(Founding member of inaugural WEN National Committee)

Pip Freebairn
WEN Chair, New South Wales (2017-2018)
(Founding member of inaugural WEN National Committee)

Dr Mala Ragahavan
WEN Chair, Tasmania (2017-2020)
(Founding member of inaugural WEN National Committee)

Nicki Hutley
WEN Chair, New South Wales (2018-2019)

Cherelle Murphy
WEN Chair, Australian Capital Territory (2019-2020)

Alexandra Lobb
WEN Chair, New South Wales (2019-2020)

Janine Bialecki
WEN Chair, Victoria (2019-2020)

Dr Christine Williams
WEN Chair, Queensland (2019-2021)

Katherine Wagner
WEN National Secretary (2020-2021)

Sally McMahon
WEN Chair, Western Australia (2018-2021)

Elizabeth Alvaro
WEN Chair, South Australia (2019-2021)

Share this with your friends