Each state branch of the ESA supports the WEN. The state branches will organise WEN events and coordinate other activities such as student outreach. The branch is supported in these activities by a WEN state committee. Current committee members are listed below: 

Australian Capital Territory

Rebecca Cassells (Chair)

Associate Professor
Bankwest Curtin Economics Centre, Curtin University

Cherelle Murphy (Vice Chair)

Senior Economist

Jennifer Bradley (Secretary)

Senior Policy Analyst
Climate Change Authority

Christine Duke (Treasurer)

Associate Director
Deloitte Access Economics

Catie Bradbear

Senior Research Economist,
Productivity Commission

Vera Holenstein

Senior Adviser
The Treasury

Caitlin Murray

Economic Adviser
Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet

Caley Shepard

Senior Economist
Food Standards Australia New Zealand

Shakira Jones

Director, Emerging Policy Issues
Bureau of Communications Research, Dept of Communications & the Arts

New South Wales

Contact NSW Branch

Visit the ESA NSW Branch for more information


Tina Rampino (Chair)

Research Fellow
Life Course Centre, Institute for Social Science Research, 
University of Queensland 

Fiona M Ricardo (Secretary)

Director of Economic Research and Analysis
Department of Transport and Main Roads

Celeste Abbondanza (Treasurer)

Assistant Business Relationship Manager
QBE Insurance and
Communication Officer of YE Queensland

Renuka Mahadevan

Associate Professor,
UQ (School of Economics)

Parisa Mahyari

Research Analyst

Rigissa Megalokonomou

UQ (School of Economics)

Christine Smith

Griffith Business School

Katie Vaynbaum

Research Coordinator
Best Practice Australia and
President of YE Queensland

South Australia

Bethany Cooper (Chair)

Senior Research Fellow
School of Commerce, University of South Australia

Elizabeth Alvaro (Secretary)

Deloitte Access Economics

Duygu Yengin

Senior Lecturer
Deputy Head of School of Economics, University of Adelaide

Zara Shroff

Department of State Development, South Australia


Mala Raghavan (Tasmanian representative)

Lecturer School of Business and Economics
University of Tasmania

Mary Bennett

Agricultural Economist
Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment

Alecia Hawkes

Principal Economic Analyst
Department of Treasury and Finance

Elena Tinch

Corporate Finance Analyst
Hydro Tasmania


Danielle Wood (Chair)

Grattan Institute

Lucille Danks (Treasurer)

Grattan Institute

Leonora Risse (Secretary)

Research Fellow in Economics
RMIT University

Catherine Costa

Research and Inquiry Manager
Productivity Commission

Shanti Gadde

Senior Economic Advisor
Department of Environment Water Land and Planning, Victorian Government 

Rebecca King

Deloitte Access Economics

Claire Moritz

Aalto Consulting

Riki Polygenis

Head of Australian Economics

Julia Talbott

Deloitte Access Economics

Simone Wong

Senior Behavioural Insights Specialist
Department of Premier and Cabinet, Victorian Government

Western Australia

Analena Gilhome (Chair)

Full time MBA candidate University of Western Australia
Former Associate Director of Deloitte Access Economics

Margaret Giles

Senior Lecturer, School of Business and Law and
Researcher at Centre for Innovative Practice
Edith Cowan University

Maria Mangano

Sessional Tutor
Edith Cowan University

Anusha Mahendran

Senior Policy Officer
Department of Commerce

Rebecca White

Senior Policy Officer
Department of State Development

Other WA committee members tbc shortly

In the future, positions on the state committees will determined by a vote of the membership. In late 2017 we will provide more details about how to nominate for a role on your state committee. 


Share this with your friends